Hall of Fame: The Undisputed Greatest Day in Baseball History

Bain News Service, publisher. Tris Speaker, Boston AL (baseball). 1912 Sept. 28.
Bain News Service, publisher. Tris Speaker, Boston AL (baseball). 1912 Sept. 28.

In 1937, the Hall of Fame inducted a class well-worthy of the second induction class in baseball history. Nap Lajoie grabbed the most votes on the ballot with 83.6% of the votes followed by 82.1% by center fielder Tris Speaker.

The top two managers in terms of wins all-time, Connie Mack and John McGraw join the list through the Veterans’ Committee with baseball’s all-time leader in pitching wins, Cy Young receiving 76.1% of the votes.

Morgan Bulkeley and Byron Johnson become the first two executives inducted into the Hall of Fame also through the Veterans Committee with their creations of the National League and American League respectively. Rounding out the second Hall of Fame induction class was George Wright who starred at shortstop for the first all professional baseball team, the Cincinnati Red Stockings.

In 1938, two baseball pioneers and one of the greatest pitchers of all-time were voted into the Hall of Fame’s third class in 1938. Alexander Cartwright, developer of such early rules as foul territory and three-out innings joins Henry Chadwick, developer of the modern box score and statistics such as batting average and ERA as Veterans’ Committee elects to the Hall of Fame.

The only player elected, Grover Alexander, third on the all-time wins list for a pitcher totaled 80.9% of the votes.


Leave a Reply